The House in the Cerulean Sea – A Review

Hello, Folks!

I’m so happy to write this review. I’l kick it off telling you something I learned when I was a teenager. More than once avid readers at that time told me there are some books with powerful messages that gives you different perspectives depending on the age you read them. “The Little Prince” by Anthony Saint-Exupéry is one of those books. I reread it many times and I always find new layers of meaning every time. The House in the Cerulean Sea is also one of these books.

The House in the Cerulean Sea by T.J. Klune is an extraordinary story.It is a huge warn hug to your soul, thoughtful, funny, emotional. It’s the type of reading to uplift your spirit. Perfect for now, a feel-good read. I won’t put a synopsis here. Please click on the link on the title for it. I’ll try to avoid spoilers (I can’t guarantee it, tho).

This title is classified, at first, on GoodReads as Fantasy. I personally think is so much more than that. It’s YA, Adult, and even Middle Grade. The reason why I think it’s all ages is primary because the reader can experienced different perspectives and understanding as you grow older. More than a story of magical creatures and humans, it has a parallel view on our society nowadays. It’s whimsical, magical, atmospheric, also it goes beyond that. It is a tale surround by acceptance, found families, love and innocence; however it has a powerful hidden (in-your-face?) message about prejudice, respect and black and white statements.

What adds up to the experience:

The setting – a changing pace from raining London to the by the sea scenario in an island by the Cerulean Sea. Nature, climate and coastal places create a perfect atmosphere for the story.

The children – I don’t have a favourite character. They are all great in their own way. The children in particular are next level. They are witty, innocent, dying to please and very damaged because of their past experiences. Lucy (the AntiChrist) and Talia (Gnome) are phenomenal their fixation about bodies, death and creepy things reminded me of my sister (hahaha). I want to hug Sal (shapeshifter) every time and the fact he loves to write #adorable. Chauncey (we don’t know what he is!) is eager to please, Phee (Sprite) is so smart and thoughtful and Theodore (wyvern) has his own way to get to you.

The other characters – Linus is your standard lonely rule follower guy. Uptight and living a boring life who is chosen to verify an Orphanage that will change his life. Arthur, the master of the orphanage, is this caring, loving and polite guy who will do anything to protect the children. I kind of picture him as David Tennant (even though he’s blond) because he fits the character in my mind perfectly. Zoe is a determined and fierce sprite who also loves the children. Helen, the mayor of the village close to the island, she is a representation of an open-minded person we want to meet everyday in our life.

The story – fictional, magical or a tale. Give it the classification you prefer. I think it’s all that and in some ways so on point to our days and society under a magical disguise. A bit metaphoric in some levels, but also straight forward in others.

Dialogues – so many dialogues and great quotes! So conversations with the kids makes you laugh so hard, and then there are some one-on-one talks that makes your heart melt and bring tears to your eyes.

The music – a lot of American classics mentioned here and some of my favourite songs too.

Again, it is hard to describe the awesome experience with this story. It will mess with your emotions in a good way. When you finish it, take a moment and hug the book. It deserves all the hype. Everybody should read it. If I could, I’d give 10 stars. I wanted to talk so much more about this title, but I don’t want to spoil your read, seriously.

I’ll leave you with one quote:

“A home isn’t always the house we live in. It’s also the people we choose to surround ourselves with.”

It is not only a favourite book of the year, it is a new addition to my favourite titles I’ve ever read list.

Ratings: 5/5 stars.

Do Yourself a favour: Read this book!

See Ya 🙂

Leave a comment