Reading Challenge – March Bits & Pieces

Hello, Folks!

Time for the March wrap up. I must say it wasn’t as good as February number wise, however, I had a great month considering that work got a bit chaotic. This month I read 12 books and also had my first DNF of the year. Let’s get to the list:

Stalking Jack The Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco – Victorian London, a serial killer, a young woman who loves mysteries and science willing to break society’s views of women, and the famous Jack the Ripper… what do you want more in a book? That was a fun ride. Great adventure through the dark streets of London while a tenacious girl Audrey Rose is determined to find out who was the killer terrorizing and killing women and the reason behind it. With great characters (others not so great), a good pace and a little twist on the original story, this title deserves some credit. Definetely I will read the sequence. I recommend it if you like Victorian stories and crime-solving. Ratings: 3.5/5 stars.

How to Fail at Flirting by Denise Williams – That’s what I love in a romance. Great characters, a storyline that explores trauma and real problems but still gives you steamy scenes, cuteness and laughter. Nay and jake are so relatable. It made me remember other stories and characters I love as well. I highly recommend it and it is under hyped. It deserves so much more respect and attention. Ratings: 4.5/5 stars.

The Girl in the Tower by Katherine Arden – The second book of the Winter Night series. The journey continues. In this book, we see Vasya progress as a force of nature. In Moscow she defies the rules by challenging those around her to accept her choice of life. The families interactions are broaden and lots of adventures set a new tone to this fairytale. I recommend it! Ratings: 4.5/ 5 stars.

A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson – it was a pleasant surprise. Although it had some ethical debate, it is still a fun read. Full review by clicking on the title. Ratings: 4.5/5 stars.

The Mystery of Black Hollow Lane by Julia Nobel – This is a great middle grade. It’s hard not to imagine a kid enjoying and devouring it. Yes, it was in some parts predictable for me, but the reading is so entertaining and fast that worth picking up. I’d love to my nephew read it. Definitely, I’ll read the sequel. Ratings: 4/5 stars.

Amari and The Night Brothers by B.B. Alston – that was a great surprise. A beloved middle grade that will make any adult craving for more adventure. Read full review by clicking on the title. Ratings: 5/5 stars.

The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah – Maybe I’m in the unpopular group because of my opinion. Don’t get me wrong, Kristin Hannah writes great drama. I enjoy the atmosphere, the plotline and how she incorporated Alaska and its characteristics into the story. She explores the toxic love and its consequence, how flawed the law is at that time (and honestly, until today) with violence against women (TW for that) and its toll on the kids involved in the process. 
Although the relationship between mother and daughter is amazing and full of love, this book goes from a great literary drama to a soap opera in the last 250 pages which annoyed me so much. 
Again, it is a good story, but not the best of her. #imo Ratings: 3/5 stars.

The Five: The Untold Lives of Women Killed by Jack The Ripper by Hallie Rubenhold – Every time I have the chance to learn of forgotten women in history, I’m game. Jack the Ripper is famous for his crimes and lots of people like to talk about him in an almost admiring way (creepy, I know). So, a book that explores the lives of the victims and how they were seen in the social scene of that period of time. Wrongly mistaken by prostitutes, Polly, Annie, Kate, Elizabeth and Mary Jane had dreams and stories that were interrupted by a lunatic. It is an interesting non-fiction book if you are curious about that famous victorian crime. Ratings: 4/5 stars.

Every Heart a Doorway by Seann McGuire – it was an interesting reading. It had a fantastical element topped with some non-sensical ideas. I appreciate the creativity and the way to explore different worlds of logic and whimsical thoughts, dark and weird. The concept is great, however I was not drawn to it. It’s clearly a “me” thing. Ratings: 3/5 stars.

GrishaVerse Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo – I read Shadow & Bone, Siege & Storm and Ruin & Rising, but I’ll comment about it on a different post after I finished reading the SoC duology.

Lastly, I DNFed a book:

The Sanatorium by Sarah Pearse – I tried. It was too slow for me, I didn’t like the characters even the atmosphere didn’t spike my curiosity. I read 40% before I gave up. Boredom happened.

First quarter of the year – gone. Here is the summary of my reading so far.

Reading Challenge: 40/100 books. That’s it for now. I hope April is better in terms of # and quality of books. I need books that inspire and surprise me.

See Ya!

Leave a comment