Grisha Verse Challenge – The Results

Hello, Everyone!

Before I start this post I want to clarify what will come below with a little disclaimer. All my comments in this review are my own opinion and perspective of this series. It has no intention to hurt anyone’s feeling or to prove someone right. It’s my sole interpretation of the books. Let’s commence.

I was excited to read the Shadow & Bone trilogy and Six of Crows duology. Five books in the same universe. Unfortunately, not all books from Leigh Bardugo pleased me. I’ll comment some minimum details, but I’ll avoid spoilers for everybody that wants to experience the books before the TV show launch (which was the primary reason I challenged myself to read them). For the synopsis, click on the title.

Shadow & Bone – in the first book, we’re introduced to the Grisha Verse. The magical system, the political and war situation around Ravka and the main characters: Alina Starkov, Mal and The Darkling (and lots of side characters too). Here is where it start to get complicated. Alina is learning about her so-called recent discovered power and Mal is annoying. It was ok. A lot of world building, understanding the grounds and knowing the characters. Nothing stood out except The Darkling (at first… no more comment because of spoilers). Another annoying thing about Alina is the I’m not like other girls trope. Ratings: 3/5 stars.

Siege & Storm – I think it doesn’t get better. Definetely more action, but there is some stuff that really bugged me. Do we all hate Mal? Please the worst character I read in a long time. Mal is a self-centred piece of shit! He is the typical macho with a hero complex and masculine pride hurt idiot…also he wants to be the only “man” in Alina’s life… plus he can’t stand that she has powers and he doesn’t… I hate to see Alina bend to him, make herself smaller to please him. Sorry! I got carried away by the hating vibe. I have hope for Nikolai, but I don’t know if I’ll be disappointed later. If it is supposed to be a kind of role model for girls damn! Ratings: 2/ 5 stars (I’m being generous here).

Ruin & Rising – ok, I was bored for the majority of this book. Close to the ending it got a bit better with the action scenes, however, Nikolai and some Grisha (shout out to Genya) alone. The review of the third Morozova’s amplifier was a joke (sorry not sorry). Definitely one of the worst wrap up of a series. Ratings: 2/5 stars.

At this point you probably hate me. I was disappointed with Leigh Bardugo and afraid to pick-up the SoC duo. I’m glad I’m not a quitter. Please, bare with me. It’s worthy.

Six of Crows – wow. That’s what I call a transformation from water to wine. This book is amazing. Welcome to Ketterdam and a set of six amazing characters that could not be more different in beliefs, way of live, and skills. This group of six people lead by Kaz Brekker will go on a heist, a very difficult death-threat adventure. I was so invested in this heist. I loved the characters, the brains, the struggles. I still can’t believe Leigh Bardugo wrote such an enjoyable book and also the S&B trilogy. I can’t tell which is my favourite (Inej?! Nina?!). All the characters have something I like in their personalities and together they are the perfect crew. The plot twists on this adventure is incredible. Highly recommend it. Ratings: 4.5/5 stars.

Crooked Kingdom  – the second book and the best of the duology. I loved to be kept in the dark. The group was always 3 steps ahead of me, a lot of twists and turns. It’s emotional, fast-paced, intriguing. The Ketterdam universe is so inviting. The plot changing is exceptional. I’ve got attached to the characters and it’s funny that the so-called main character and leader Kaz doesn’t shine over the others. He is the brains, the plot creator, however, he doesn’t steal the scene and all the other characters have their stories and importance. I was happy to welcome some old friends from the Grisha verse. Incredible! Ratings: 5/5 stars.

That’s it. Apart from my renting, it was a successful endeavour. I’m super curious to watch the TV show. If you want my recommendation, skim S&B trilogy to understand the world building and powers then go straight to SoC duo.

See Ya later!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment