Reading Challenge – April Bits & Pieces

Hello, Folks!

Time to review the balance of the month. I intended to read more books on April, however, things happened. I still manage to read 12 books. I take it and I’m happy. Let’s not delay anything. Here are the titles:

Six of Crows / Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo – Epic reading. Highly recommend it. Read my full review by clicking on the title. Rating: 5/5 stars.

Honey Girl by Morgan Rogers – this book is stunning. It was marketed as a romance, however, it goes deeper into to our main character live. Her struggles to find her place as a professional, navigate a complicated relationship with her parents (especially Dad) and what’s next in her love life. Rating: 4/5 stars.

Spoiler Alert  by Olivia Dade – if you are a huge tv series addict and love fanfic, this book will entertain you. It definitely had the elements of nostalgia for me. I liked the representation of plus sized, and it’s nice to see for once the plot diverges from the regular romcom. Rating: 4/5 stars.

The Girl who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill – Great middle grade. This book is so cute! A story of choices, right and wrong, family, friendship and love. My favourite character (apart from Xan and Luna) is Fyrian. The amount of joy and care in this book is enormous. Lots of lessons in a whimsical fairy tale with great writing. Storytelling at its best. Rating: 4.5/5 stars.

Shipped by Angie Hockman – If you’re looking for a hate-to-lovers story with summery vibes, search no more. 
This book is an enjoyable romance, some fave tropes and a good amount of adventure especially if you miss travel, here you find a great escape. I liked the characters, their background stories and how well they blended with the atmosphere. Kudos for the environmental commentary. I was really happy to see this take in a romance book, then I read the acknowledgments. It became easy to understand why such a topic is explored. Any book that takes the environment seriously and has ABBA it’s a win for me. I definitely will read more of this author. Rating: 4/5 stars.

The End of Her by Shari Lapena – I finished. It was bleh. Seriously, Shari Lapena is not for me. Almost died of boredom. It took me 2 weeks to read… I can’t say anything else. Rating: 2/5 stars.

Vicious / Vengeful by V. E. Schwab – OMG! This was so good. The first book on a duology. A tale of science vs religion, fast-paced, sci-fi elements. Morally grey characters. Sign me up! Read my full review by clicking on the title. Rating: 5/5 stars.

Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hilbert – OMG! Talia Hibbert did it again… the last book in The Brown Sisters series and without a doubt my favourite. It’s fun, cute, light, emotional, steamy (yes, thank you!), sassy I have tons of adjectives for it. I loved the representation in this, the way the story evolves leads you to what we expect in a romance. Highly recommend it. Rating: 5/5 stars.

City of Ghosts by Victoria Schwab – Meet Cassidy Blake, a 12-year-old girl who can talk and see ghosts. An interesting beginning for a ghost story. I loved the atmosphere and the eerie vibes of Scotland. Cassidy is an adventurous, reckless girl when it comes to danger. I appreciate the courage and her spirit. I don’t know what to make about Lara or the friendship with Jacob. What I find most unbelievable was how clueless her parents seem about her “gift”. I have to mention all the Harry Potter references, if you’re a fan of the series you’ll appreciate it (especially being a kid). Anyway, I’m continuing with the series. I want to have more explanation about the Veil and Cassidy actual hunter skills. Rating: 3.5/5 stars.

Tunnel of Bones by Victoria Schwab – second book in the trilogy. We are in Paris. That was fun! I like the whole sightseeing on spooky places. Lara continues to amaze me. Rating: 4/5 stars.

That’s it for April.

See Ya!

Leave a comment